Is woman a sex object?

Anna Umn
2 min read3 days ago

Or it’s just your sick mentality?

Our lives begin to end the day we became silent about things that matter. (Martin Luther King, JR.)

Why we don’t talk openly about rape or sexual harassment?

Why we consider it a taboo?

Why the victim becomes accused?

Why families of rape victims are silenced in the name of honour?

Why families of victims are ashamed, despite being innocent?

Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I often wonder, if this were ever to happen to me, would I break the silence? Would my parents and family support me to identify the culprit? Would I also suppress myself or be forced to silence my voice like many others?

I don’t know the answer to these, but one thing is for sure, I will not let the culprit to ruin others lives. I will take whatever steps I could, to expose the guilty. How could I or anyone forgo these kind of people?

They must be hanged publicly till death, and it’s bare minimum.

In contemporary era, where literacy rate, development, innovation, and all other indicators that term a country as civilised, are increasingly rapidly, such sick mentality people still exist.

--

--

Anna Umn

Writer exploring life, wellness, and personal growth. Sharing insights and stories to inspire a mindful living